2018 Honorees Selected for CBCA's Business for the Arts Awards

The Colorado Business Committee for the Arts announces 12 statewide recipients for its annual awards

CLEO PARKER ROBINSOn dance performing at cbca awards luncheon. pC: steve peterson

Honoring organizations and individuals for their outstanding partnerships and engagement with the creative economy, Colorado Business Committee for the Arts (CBCA) announced its 12 honorees apart of the 2018 Business for the Arts Awards, Thursday, Dec. 13, revealing a new format for the recognition.

The honorees are deemed exemplary private and nonprofit entities in their support of the arts, creative industries and infrastructure.

The honorees will be commemorated at Tuesday, March 13, 2018 at the Business for the Arts Awards Luncheon, where more than 700 corporate, cultural and civic leaders are in attendance.

The annual honorees include:


  • BELLCO CREDIT UNION – For the team's commitment to philanthropy in the arts, including Denver Art Museum's Free for Kids program.
  • DAZZLEFor the last decade, this bar-restaurants has served as Denver's home for jazz has successfully supported musicians, arts education and community causes.
  • DELTA DENTAL OF COLORADO – For bringing smiles to faces by enhancing cultural vitality through sponsorship, programming and employee engagement.
  • DOWNTOWN ARTERY – For becoming Fort Collins' creative hub, supporting a community of creators with its performance venue, gallery space, classrooms, studios and a cafe.
  • GENSLER – For its presence as an international architecture firm, Gensler has made an impact on Access Gallery, with a decade of steadfast, growing and multi-faceted involvement.
  • RTD + CITY OF AURORA – For their partnership to implement public art with creation of the light rail's R Line.
  • STANLEY MARKETPLACE – For opening its doors in Aurora and incorporating arts partnerships, including experimental immersive theater experiences to pop-up galleries.
  • XCEL ENERGY –  For the collective outreach and access to support Colorado philanthropic organizations with an extensive employee volunteer program


The 2018 Business for the Arts Awards Honorees, John Madden, Jr. Leadership Award, and the EY Next Wave Leadership Award were selected by an independent panel of arts, business and community leaders.

  • Matt Chasansky, Manager, Office of Arts + Culture, City of Boulder
  • Renny Fagan, President & CEO, Colorado Nonprofit Association
  • Joe Lear, Principal, Davis Partnership
  • Clarence Low, President & CEO, Asian Chamber of Commerce
  • J. Schuyler Madden, Project Director, Museum of Outdoor Arts
  • Maureen McDonald, Principal, Maureen McDonald, LLC
  • Allison Scheck, Public Engagement & Operations Manager, City of Lakewood

The Volunteer Attorney of the Year Award was selected by the CAFTA Advisory Committee. The Cultural Leadership Award was selected by the LAAN Award Committee.

Categories: Community News