AIA Colorado honors young architects

Ten awards and five honors were presented at the Young Architects Awards Gala

The American Institute of Architects Colorado Chapter (AIA Colorado) presented 10 awards and five honors during its annual Young Architects Awards Gala (YAAG) program in June at Gensler in Denver. The event marks the 17th anniversary of this awards program recognizing emerging professionals. 

Juried Awards

The following ten awards and five honorable mentions were selected from entries submitted by firms, designers, students and young architects (licensed 10 years or less) from across the state. The entries were judged by a jury of architects, including:

•       Stephen Dynia, FAIA (Jury Chair) – Dynia Architects

•       Sarah Semple Brown, FAIA – Semple Brown Design

•       Renee del Gaudio, AIA – Renee del Gaudio Architecture

•       Brent Mather, AIA – Gensler

•       EJ Meade, AIA – Arch11

•       Adam Harding, AIA – Roth Sheppard Architects


Emerging Professional of the Year

Winner: Dominic Weilminster, AIA – RNL Design


Winner: Kaylyn Kirby, Assoc. AIA – HDR, Inc.

Craftsmanship – Artistic

Winner: Brittany Wheeler – Tomecek Studio Architects for Amass

Honorable Mention: Rachel Cusimano, AIA – Roth Sheppard Architects for Girl Running – Germany Holocaust Memorial

Unbuilt Architecture – Under 20,000 SF

Winner: Mike Sudolsky, Assoc. AIA – Gensler for [N]STALL

Honorable Mention: Brian Martin – Tomecek Studio Architecture for Sky Tower

Unbuilt Architecture – Over 20,000 SF

Winner: Adam Wagoner and Raphael de la Fontaine – Yale School of Architecture for New Haven Basilica

Honorable Mention: Kaylyn Kirby, Assoc. AIA – HDR, Inc. for Terre & Eau

Built Architecture – Under 20,000 SF

Winner: Colorado Building Workshop, University of Colorado Denver for Colorado Outward Bound Micro Cabins

Built Architecture – Over 20,000 SF

Winner: Adam Ambro, AIA, Randall Hatley, Jonas Phillipsen and Scott Wightman – Gensler for Jackson Hole Airport Phase II

Interior Architecture

Winner: Thomas Harris and Patty Gut – HDR, Inc. for Bows and Arrows

Adaptive Reuse and/or Historic Preservation

Winner: Dana Ganssle Ellis, Assoc. AIA – Rowland + Broughton Architecture for White House Tavern

Honorable Mention: Eric Blase, Georgia Brown, Tim Hutchinson and Jonas Phillipsen – Gensler for Seed Building

Creative Concept

Winner: Cam Tu Dang – Cam Dang Designs/Larson Incitti Architects for Tulum Table & Chair

Honorable Mention: Stephanie Wood – University of Colorado Denver for Erganomi

 AIA Colorado congratulates these talented Emerging Professionals on their design achievements. To learn more about the work of AIA Colorado’s Emerging Professionals, visit their blog at

About AIA Colorado

For more than 150 years, members of The American Institute of Architects (AIA) have worked with each other and their communities to create more valuable, healthy, secure and sustainable buildings and cityscapes. AIA members have access to the right people, knowledge and tools to create better design, and through such resources and access, they help clients and communities make their visions real. With more than 2,500 members, AIA Colorado’s mission is to be the voice of the architectural profession and the primary resource for its members. AIA Colorado inspires members to be leaders in a quality built environment. Visit

Categories: Community News