More By This Author

Current Issue

Current Issue

Posted: February 01, 2014

25th Anniversary Colorado Business Hall of Fame

Milestone event is cause for recalling stories of laureates who helped shape the state

Maria Martin

“We need more entrepreneurs from all walks of life,” he says. “All college students should take a class in business. They should learn you have to take risks, and you have to have passion for what you do.”

Jabs says he was surprised to be named a Hall of Fame award recipient in 2012.

“I didn’t get into business for the money and I’m not a social butterfly,” he says, then laughs. “I had to dust off my tuxedo before the banquet.”

But the honor meant the world to him, he recalls.

Montoya reflects the same sentiment.

“I’m relishing it,” he says. “I have some customers who now say, ‘I never realized that we were working with someone so well respected in the business community.’ It has become part of me, and I’m humbled by it.”

Future laureates will continue to represent the grit of the pioneers who built the state, says Wise, adding that the list will soon include more women and minorities, as they continue to make strides in all aspects of Colorado’s marketplace.

“This next generation thinks globally, and they are color blind – not judgmental when it comes to race, religion or anything else,” she says.

“I look at our laureates and I ask the question: ‘What’s the rest of the story?’ To our young people I ask, ‘How will you build upon the legacy of the great laureates who came before you?’”

The 25th Anniversary
Business Hall of Fame

Hyatt Regency Denver
at the Convention Center

Jan. 30, 2014
The event begins at 5:30 p.m. with a VIP reception, followed by a general reception at 6 p.m.
The program begins at 7 p.m., and dinner will be served at 8 p.m.

Ticket information and details:



A 25th anniversary is a great time to reminisce. With that in mind, this year, the Denver Metro Chamber of Commerce and Junior Achievement have decided to bring the legendary contributions of past laureates to life in a memorable production.

Robin Wise, CEO of Junior Achievement-Rocky Mountain, promises the evening will be enlightening and entertaining.

Arthur Brooks, president of the American Enterprise Institute, will speak at the event. Brooks, the author of numerous books and articles on economics, was a professor of business and government policy at Syracuse University before he started at AEI. Throughout his varied career, he has worked as a professional musician, a music teacher, and a professor of everything from economics to nonprofit management.

In 2008, he left academia to join the AEI, and since has worked with the organization’s scholars and staff to fight for better policy. He speaks around the word about the free enterprise movement.


// LAUREATE HISTORY: 1990-2013 //


Clifford E. Baldridge

Claude K. Boettcher

Adolph Coors

Charles Cassius Gates

Carl A. Norgren

General William Jackson Palmer



Benjamin Harrison Eaton

John Evans

William D. Farr

Spencer Penrose

Jesse Shwayder



Barney Ford

Lloyd King

Otto Mears

David H. Moffat

Churchhill Owen



D.R.C. (Darcy) Brown, Jr.

William N. Byers

Roger D. Knight, Jr.

Henry M. Porter

Frank H. Ricketson, Jr.



C.K. (Chet) Enstrom

Cecil J. Hernandez

Elrey B. Jeppesen

Nicholas R. Petry

Anna C. Petteys


Helen Bonfils

Arthur E. Johnson

Bob Johnston

Ken Monfort

Aksel Nielsen



Eugene H. Adams

William K. Coors

Bill Daniels

Emily Griffith

W. Clarence Kurtz



Philip F. Anschutz

Elwood M. Brooks

Dana H. Crawford

Daniel L. Ritchie

William Thayer Tutt



Felipe Baca

Walter S. Cheesman

George E. Cranmer

Charles C. Gates, Jr.

Frank S. Hoag, Sr.

Mary Elitch Long

John A. Love

Robert T. Person, Sr.



Sam Gary

Del Hock

Bob Magness

Dr. John Malone

LaRae Orullian

Russell T. Tutt



Kathryn Hach-Darrow

Ed McVaney

Alan Phipps

Gerald Phipps

Richard and Ed Robinson

Horace Tabor



Thomas Bailey

William Bent

Cortlandt Dietler

Walter A. Koelbel

Hannah Levy

William Dean Singleton



Morley Ballantine

Franklin and Joy Burns

Charles Hansen

Emmett Heitler

Joe Wagner



Lloyd Chavez

John W. Iliff

Roger Reisher

Peter Seibert Sr.

Robert G. Tointon



A.B., Edward and Barry Hirschfeld

William J. Hybl

Frederick R. Mayer

Leonard C. Burch

Robert S. Everitt



Kent and Caroline

Charles Boettcher

Thor and Gerald Groswold

Carl M. Williams



Tom Gleason

A.V. Hunter

Harry T. Lewis, Jr.

Dave and Gail Liniger

Morris “Moe” Miller

Robert Hoag Rawlings



Herb Bacon

Henry Cordes Brown

Al Cohen

John Fuller

Ralph Peterson



Samuel Addoms

Louis Clinton, Jr.

Harry Frampton

J. K Mullen

William Vollbracht



Bruce Benson

Cathey M. Finlon

The Loo Family

Sam Maynes

Jordon Perlmutter

Jack Vickers



Hank Bosco

Merle Chambers

The Gart Brothers

Fred Hamilton

James Wallace



Charles Gallagher

Walter Imhoff

Mary Ann Padilla

Myron “Micky” Miller

Bob Young



Peter Coors

Raymond Duncan

David & Renie Gorsuch

Jacob “Jake” Jabs

J. Landis “Lanny” Martin



Temple Buell

Glenn Jones

Don Kortz

Ron Montoya

Rod and Beth Slifer

Page 2 of 2 pages < 1 2

Maria Martin is a freelance writer.

Enjoy this article? Sign up to get ColoradoBiz Exclusives. The opinions expressed in this article are solely that of the author and do not represent ColoradoBiz magazine. Comments on articles will be removed if they include personal attacks.

Readers Respond

Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

ColoradoBiz TV

Loading the player ...

Featured Video