CBCA Honors 10 at Annual Awards Luncheon

2019's Business for the Arts Awards celebrates recipients statewide

On Tuesday, March 12, the Colorado Business Committee for the Arts (CBCA) celebrated 10 honorees at the Business for the Arts Awards Luncheon, as part of the 2019 Business for the Arts Awards. Held at the Seawell Grand Ballroom at the Denver Performing Arts Complex, more than 700 local corporate, cultural and civic leaders attended the 32nd annual event. It is the only event held statewide to honor companies and individuals for their exemplary engagement with the arts. 

“We applaud all of the outstanding honorees this year for their innovative and impactful business and arts partnerships," Mark Davidson, chair of CBCA's board of directors, says. "Their stories demonstrate how the arts and business advance our economy and strengthen the cultural vitality and quality of life in Colorado.” 

Entertainment at this year’s luncheon included indie-alternative band Ivory Circle, an excerpt from Denver Center for the Performing Arts’ Xanadu, a scene from And Toto too Theatre Company and a performance from the Intergenerational Women’s African Dance and Drumming Ensemble (IWADDE). In addition, a balloon art installation was featured during the pre-event networking reception, created by Balloon Art by Merry Makers from Greeley.  Think 360 Arts for Learning and artists/educators Eurekus were commissioned to create the table centerpieces.

The annual honorees include:


BANK OF AMERICA – For its commitment to philanthropy in the arts, including sponsoring major exhibits at the Denver Art Museum, grants for arts conservation and their Museums on Us program.

CITY OF LAKEWOOD – Has collaborated to create the 40 West ArtLinea four-mile walking and biking arts experience creatively connecting parks and neighborhoods to transit, businesses and other amenities.

COLORADO HARVEST COMPANY – Is a premium cannabis production and retail company and a founding sponsor of Denver’s Levitt Pavilion that continues to integrate the arts into their facilities.

DAIRY BLOCK – This unique micro-district in downtown Denver boasts over 700 pieces of art featuring 30 Colorado artists curated by NINE dot ARTS.

THE INDEPENDENCE CENTER – Is an independent living center that serves people with disabilities in El Paso County, that has forged unique relationships with arts organizations to lift up the voices of the people they serve.

KAISER PERMANENTE COLORADO – Their recent public health awareness campaign included powerful murals promoting the importance of mental health throughout Colorado Springs and Pueblo.  


MEREDITH HUTSONFOUNDER AND EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR, PRESENTING DENVER (Leadership Arts 2012) :: PNC BANK CULTURAL LEADERSHIP AWARD – For being a tireless volunteer leader and arts advocate, furthering Denver as an innovative dance hub through Presenting Denver, community partnerships and volunteer service.

DAVE RATNER, PRINICPAL, CREATIVE LAW NETWORK :: COLORADO ATTORNEYS FOR THE ARTS, VOLUNTEER ATTORNEY OF THE YEAR For dedicating his legal practice and volunteer service to the creative industries, including stewarding the development and growth of CBCA’s Colorado Attorneys for the Arts (CAFTA) program across Colorado.

ARMANDO SILVA, ARTIST AND GALLERY OWNER, ARTMANDO STUDIO :: EY NEXT WAVE LEADERSHIP AWARD – For his work as an artist, teacher and performer in Greeley who supports the community through performance paintings, engaging murals and an annual hip hop dance festival.

MARINER KEMPER, CHAIRMAN, PRESIDENT AND CEO, UMB FINANCIAL CORPORATION :: JOHN MADDEN, JR. LEADERSHIP AWARD –  For continuing UMB’s comprehensive and sustained commitment to the cultural sector through his philanthropy, leadership, business practices and personal passion for the arts.

Honorees received a unique fine art sculpture as their award, crafted by Colorado Springs artist, Sean O’Meallie. The 2019 Business for the Arts Awards Honorees, PNC Cultural Leadership Award Honoree, EY Next Wave Leadership Award Honoree and the John Madden, Jr. Leadership Award Honoree were selected by an independent panel of arts, business and community leaders.

J.J. Ament, CEO, Metro Denver Economic Development Corporation

Liz Gardner, Social Investment Representative, Xcel Energy

Jim Johnston, Marketing Director, Bellco Credit Union

Jill Robinson, President and CEO, TRG Arts

Hal Logan, past John Madden, Jr. Leadership Award Honoree

The Volunteer Attorney of the Year Award was selected by the CAFTA Advisory Committee.

Categories: Community News, Companies